Division of Pediatric Surgery

Welcome from the Chair

Mike K. Chen, M.D., MBA

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

It is my privilege to present to you the 2021 report for the Pediatric Surgical Subspecialties. The highlights and accomplishments of the subspecialties featured here focus on education, research and excellent clinical care.

Despite the ongoing limitations of the COVID pandemic, we remain optimistic and productive. The academic efforts of our residents, fellows, faculty and staff will ultimately lead to improved clinical care that we provide for the children in Alabama and beyond.

Mike K. Chen, M.D., MBA
Joseph M. Farley Endowed Chair in Pediatric Surgery
Professor of Surgery
Surgeon-in-Chief, Children’s of Alabama
Director, Division of Pediatric Surgery
Department of Surgery
UAB School of Medicine

Division of Pediatric Surgery Leadership

Jennifer R. Dollar, M.D.
Service Chief, Anesthesia
Susan Nabers Haskell Endowed Chair in Pediatric Anesthesiology

Robert J. Dabal, M.D.
Director, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Chief, Section of Pediatric Heart Surgery

Santiago Borasino, M.D., MPH
Chief, Section of Pediatric Cardiac Critical Care Medicine
Medical Director, Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit

Mike Chen, M.D., MBA
Division Director, Chief of Pediatric Surgery
Surgeon-in-Chief, Children’s of Alabama
Joseph M. Farley Chair in Pediatric Surgery

Peter D. Waite, MPH, DDS, M.D.,FACS
Professor and Chair, UAB Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Shawn R. Gilbert, M.D.
Chief, Pediatric Orthopedics

Audie L. Woolley, M.D.,FACS
Chief, Pediatric Otolaryngology
Medical Director, Cochlear Implant Program

Jeffrey P. Blount, M.D.
Division Director, Chief of Pediatric Neurosurgery

John H. Grant, III, M.D.
Chief, Pediatric Plastic Surgery
Director, UAB Cleft and Craniofacial Center
James C. Lee, III, Chair in Pediatric Plastic Surgery

Stacy Tanaka, JD, MS
Chief, Pediatric Urology